Baby Steps

No pictures tonight, but a couple of notes.

First, you may remember that I mentioned Hi Speed Rods & Customs in my last post as the company I bought my a/c condenser from. It arrived yesterday and I went down and picked it up. *TODAY* it finally occurred to me that I could actually buy the cooling system fan, too – I don’t have to wait until I get the new radiator. I could have ordered it last week along with the condenser (but no…), or I could have ordered it yesterday when I picked up the condenser (again, no…). *sigh* My brain seems to really like this retired gig. [“You want me to do two things in one day?!? I don’t think so!!!”]

Anyway, when I went down today, I noticed that the sign on their building also says “Auto Sales” – so, naturally I had to ask what was available. They have a 1954 (!!!) Corvette there, but they *just* sold it for $70,000. This unit was Number 60 or so for 1954, meaning Number 360 or so EVER. It has the Straight-Six with the three side-draft carburetors, and the two-speed (I think) Torque-Flite transmission. In 1954, there were no engine or tranny options – that was it. The body was rough, and the seats needed new upholstery, but it was in *really* good condition otherwise, IMO.

I also found out that the H-D motorcycle I mentioned last time – the very early, fully-restored one – is also for sale … for $400k. ACK! I guess I won’t be buying THAT any time soon. Or ever.

But getting back to the business at hand, I ordered the electric cooling fan today and it’ll be at the shop in a week or so. So I’ll have another chance to drool over stuff then.

I also got more bits and pieces off the Jeep this week. The exhaust headers are now off; most of the engine-bay wiring has been sufficiently disconnected; the clutch and brake pedals have been removed; and the brake lines are out of the way. I think I have about one more afternoon under the Jeep; then, if all goes well, I should have it ready to tow over to “Robert the Frame Guy” this weekend. (I decided to put the front bumper and tow bar back on so that I could get it to him on its own tires. That way we don’t have to worry about getting it safely off a trailer, without brakes or any other way to slow it down. I’d rather not have a rollaway Jeep free in the man’s back yard.) Of course, he messaged me on Facebook tonight to tell me he probably won’t be able to get going on it before about March 25 because he’s on 12-hour shifts, 6 days a week, between now and then. I’m sure the money will be welcome, but that kind of schedule will wear *anybody* out.

I collected my third axle from Tucson Differential last Friday. I still don’t have the middle axle, though – Jay, the owner, hasn’t done his part to modify it so it’ll actually *work*. Maybe it’ll be done by the time Robert gets started on the frame.

So, yeah. Baby steps.

Categories: Air Conditioning, Cooling System, Custom Frame, Jeep | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

